Dr Kevin Wall received the 2012 JD Roberts Award in recognition of his leading role in developing solutions for alternative housing and infrastructure asset management, as well as for an innovative approach to maintenance of sanitation systems.

Dr Wall developed franchising models for the routine maintenance of municipal infrastructure. These social franchising partnerships have the potential to create many jobs for small entrepreneurs and workers. The model also assists municipalities to meet their service delivery targets. Dr Wall’s franchising model has been deployed in 400 schools in the Eastern Cape with another 1 100 to follow.  In addition, 600 households have also benefitted with another 2 400 to follow.

The JD Roberts Award is held in partnership with the CSIR and was instituted by Murray & Roberts in remembrance of one of the Group’s founders, Dr JD Roberts.

The award recognises and promotes competitive and environmentally sustainable solutions to human dilemmas, and encourages scientific research into technology that enhances the quality of life of all South Africans.


JD Roberts Winners

Dr Kevin Wall, winner of the 2012 JD Roberts Award with Murray & Roberts and CSIR executives and daughters of the late JD Roberts


Two teams from the University of Pretoria (UP) and one from the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) departments of architecture won joint first place in the 2012 Murray & Roberts Des Baker Award for Architectural Design.

The winners are: Rikus de Kock, Alexander Becker and Justin Coetzee (UP); Christopher Macclements and Johann Wiese (UP); Christelle Coetzee and Rhodé Kasselman (TUT). The competition brief was Re-scripting Architecture and students were required to consider the relationship between architecture and film in the making of a public space.

The Des Baker Award was initiated in 1983 in recognition of the late Des Baker, a former chairman of Murray & Roberts.



Des Baker