Cover Text
PDF PDF format [1.3MB]  


Tectonics in Architecture

Eighteen schools of architecture competed in the competition, which was themed “The Legacy of Tectonics in Architecture” and finalist entries were displayed in the monument museum for a week before the ceremony.

The winner of the 2006 Murray & Roberts Des Baker Awards was University of Pretoria for a project titled “The Wall” by Marco Freeks, Donovan Gottsman, Lizelle Cloete and Matthew Bosch. They received a trophy and prize money of R25 000.

The first runner-up was Tshwane University of Technology for a project titled “Amenity” by Bernard Geldenhuys, Maritza Jackson and Peet Steynberg. Another Tshwane University of Technology project, “Ubuntu” by Sandra Joubert and Wynand Tromp was awarded the second runner-up prize. The runners-up received R15 000 and R10 000 respectively.

Sean Flanagan congratulates the winners
Sean Flanagan congratulates the winners

The ceremony was hosted by the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment at the Tshwane University of Technology, Professor Fred Otieno, and Murray & Roberts executives, Brian Bruce, Sean Flanagan and Gordon Taylor. The judges, represented by
Professor Labelle Prussin (USA) were Henning Rasmuss, Elmos Swart, Karlien Thomashoff and Greg Cocking.

The ceremony was attended by about 700 guests, including visitors from Mozambique, the Netherlands and Zimbabwe.


The annual Des Baker Award was introduced in 1983 in recognition of the late Des Baker, executive chairman of Murray & Roberts until 1982. Des was a well respected personality in the construction and industrial world at that time and was known for his progressive thinking.

The Murray & Roberts Des Baker Architecture competition is open to all students of architecture and is sponsored by Murray & Roberts in partnership with established architectural schools across the country. The competition strives to:

  • Grow and enrich the understanding and relationship between architects and contractors
  • Recognise and reward students of architecture for their achievements in the competition
  • Associate the late Des Baker with a prestigious award in the field of construction

The Murray & Roberts Des Baker competition is a highlight of the annual five day Architectural Students Congress attended by students from across South Africa and the southern African region and is hosted by a different university every year. The host university for 2006 was Tshwane University of technology.